Category Archives: Do you know?

Do You know?

Some interesting facts

The largest land animals in the world, elephants, are exclusively vegetarian. They grow up to 10,000 pounds, by eating nothing but plant matter. There are also horses, camels, giraffes, elk, rhinos, cattle all herbivores growing up to be strong and powerful. Most primates (gorillas, etc.), the closest counterparts to humans in the animal world, are vegetarians.

One of the first famous vegetarians was the Greek philosopher Pythagoras who lived at the end of the 6th century B.C. In fact, the term “Pythagorean diet” was commonly used for a plant-based diet until the term “vegetarian” was coined in the 19th century.

A balanced diet, whether vegetarian or otherwise, will provide your body with all the nutrients it needs. Vegetarians who have a well-rounded diet do not suffer from deficiencies any more than non-vegetarians.

Gelatin, which is used to make jello and many other products, is extracted from the collagen inside animals’ connective tissue. A lot of seemingly “vegetarian” food (like jello) includes gelatin. Vegetarians normally avoid all foods that include gelatin. Agar-agar is a popular vegetarian gelatin substitute and is used in many products.

Middle-eastern food, which has many meat-based dishes, also offers a great variety of vegetarian options – Hummus, tabouleh, all kinds of eggplant dishes, falafel, and many others. And of course all the tasty sweets as well.